top of page
  • Shivanni Rambaran

Act Like A Lady





Don’t be too thin, don’t be too fat,

No, no, no don’t sit like that,

Stand up tall with your head held high,

Everyone else acts like a lady so why don’t I?

Catchy right?

From the day I was born I was told what to do,

How to dress, how to act, how to ask “How are you?”

Always say thank you, always be polite,

Always remember to act “lady-like.”

I was punished when I didn’t do it

I had to teach myself to unlearn it

And now that I’m older I see things differently

I want control over my own decisions

But when that happens, I get all the blame

No matter what anyone else happens to say.

I can’t even walk to my car without leering eyes on me

And all anyone seems to wonder is what I was wearing

And even if I am believed I am still the one being punished

Being told “well don’t do that anymore you should know better than this”

Now tell me why I can’t go on a walk without being followed

Without being watched or someone trying to feel me up from top to bottom

Tell me why I had to run to a friend’s house and be driven home for protection

Because if I had said something HE would have taken that as rejection

And God forbid that happened because then I deserve everything I would’ve gotten

Are his future possibilities really more important than my current reality?

It’s not lady-like to speak up,

It’s not lady-like to lash out,

It’s lady-like to shut up and shut down

But not me, not a chance

I will scream at the top of my lungs

I will laugh and I will cry while everyone else does this stupid little dance

“Act like a lady?”

How about you walk in my shoes

And the day you can, you tell me what you would do.





bottom of page