top of page
  • Tashfia Haidar

The Incident in my Neighborhood


There once was a beautiful place

With individuals of every race

We all got along

There was nothing wrong

There was never a conflict we faced


Until that one horrible day

To a Muslim woman’s dismay

She was brutally attacked

By a man who was whack

Who thought that Muslims should all be erased


This event came to us as a shock

To the people living on this block

My mother was sad

My father was mad

My neighbors were securing their locks


This experience was really surreal

I didn’t quite know how to feel

My mom could be next

Due to the way she was dressed

To me, that was a pretty big deal


I told her to not go outside

By herself, especially at night

I wanted her safe

But at the end of the day

Trapping her inside by herself wasn’t right


My neighbors were checking on us

So at least we had people to trust

But this whole thing made me nauseous

We had to be cautious

So I couldn’t help but sneer in disgust


However, I later discovered

What this misfortune has come to uncover

Which were love and embraces

From friends of all races

And this made it much easier to recover


Eventually, the tension died down

More smiles replaced all of the frowns

But we will always lament

That tragic event

That occurred to the lady who was brown






bottom of page