top of page
  • Jacxainett Valdera

Inmate 7684



“I breathe fake air behind concrete walls”.

“See ya”,

I been stuck here for 25 years. I forgot what real air is like.


See look,

“It ain't one or two of us,” it's a good 2.3 million” I guess yeah, thank you”.

“We live in the “great nation” of liberty and justice for all”.


I'm stuck behind these walls.

So thank you again,

for nothing.


“Yeah I'm stuck behind bars,”

“because you are America.”

I was someone else because of my skin?”

When the real suspect is walking free.

“That's crazy”.


The grass is greener on the other side, that's what they say.

I mean maybe it's not,

I don't know.

I...

I mean I couldn't tell you, because I haven't seen it.

Yet Devon told me what it's like through the phone. I only get like 5 mins to talk it up.

“But is it true”, is it really that great outside these walls?

Is freedom" so great?“

Well see, I would love to agree with you that “free”-dom is so great

but I am stuck behind these walls”,

and yet in two days I get freedom I don't know even where to start so could you tell me.


“Can you tell me wha new on the radio”,

“Can you tell me wha rides to the beach are like”,

Can you tell me wha a crowded concert sounds like,

Can you tell me wha the kids are doing nowadays?

I saw a child come in on visitation day.

He told his pops it's a phone something like that, nah an iPhone, what's that ? what that like?

An iphone could've come up with a better name than that wack name.

When they look at me they think I'm a monster.

I got stuck here,

for going to the corner store at night to get some food for my family,and some guy just killed somebody, and they thought it was me.

Like hell nah,

Me?

I don't even look like him.

Yet I got stuck here for 25 years,when they look at me they just see my skin color.

They think I'm a criminal because my skin tone is darker than theirs and I'm from the hood.?


America home of the free and the brave

“Were men are created equal

yeah OK that's not it.


See when they look at me

They see a crazy untamed animal.


When they look.

All they see is my color.

They don't know my story but then they judge me.


See if the sky is so Blue then why do I feel so blue on the inside.

I want to cry.

See if the color Yellow is made to be so bright and happy then why only.

See.

Why the only kind of yellow I see makes me sick

Oh yeah right it's because it's the color of the nasty potatoes they make us eat .

Nah Red I hate that color!

It's the blood that came out from one of my brothers that just got popped

with a knife made out of a milk carton.


See today is a day of freedom

I get out.

They told me I will go back home to my loved ones.

But they don’t know me anymore.

“It's been so long they forgot who I am”.

America!!

yeah I told you I need help

All you do is look at me and laugh

Ayoo America you.

I'm, I'm telling you.

I am speaking to you.

America right now.

Listen,you need to change the way you look at me and treat me. I am a person of color in America doesn't mean I am a criminal.

Times up you need to change.

I SUFFER TOO.


But nah right you neglect my feelings you forget about me and throw away the key.

Jack to the world that you're actually doing it

but really on the inside that's just a lie.

And you know that.


So I'm here today. I'm standing outside back in the world after 25 years.

you tell the whole world America.

that you are teaching us what to do and "we will be prepared "


Yet I only got $13 in my pocket and best believe I cannot get a job because of how you made the system to be.

You say "well your family has your back"

My family barely knows me anymore .

“Yoo world I'm back” All I heard is Silence

What am I saying? the world don't care

You made it not care America

Only thing you taught me was to make me go mad and crazy and

feel like an animal.

WHAT AM I Supposed to do.

GIVE ME HELP PLEASE I BEG or I will be Free and Done.


You need to teach my fellow brothers and me how to make it in society.

it has completely changed from when I was free.

they got to know how to adjust to the world after years and years,

The world is a jungle. You treat us like animals

In here.

Let's face it

most people are lions

some snails.


But right now I'm a zebra with Purple and Green stripes.

I stand out.

I'm trying to stay in my place as a person.

I'm trying to re-adjust but I don't know how to do that.


i'm gonna give you some advice

just listen to what I gotta say and trust me

you'll find the answers to help us

If you listen to our stories.


STOP. JUDGING. ME.

I ain't do nothing wrong you falsely accused me. AMERICA

What you need to do is teach me how to re-adjust to the world

it's been 25 years

You want homelessness to go down

unemployment rates to decrease

You got to stop assuming and judging me.

I'm human

I need to be treated like one too.

Yo jackin it's the land of the “free “

Make me feel like I am “free”

I want FREEDOM

I don't want to be FREE and DONE.




bottom of page